Ashes 2023: England v Australia series dates, times and venues announced

The final Women’s Ashes Test ended in a dramatic draw on the fourth and final day

England Women will play a home Ashes Test against Australia over five days for the first time in June 2023.

England’s women’s Tests have previously been held over four days but Trent Bridge will host next year’s match in the multi-format series from June 22-26.

The men’s five-Test Ashes series will run from June 16 to July 31.

England’s home men’s Ashes series will be the first in history to not feature a Test in August, going back to the first series there in 1884.

England’s men will also host Ireland and New Zealand next year, while the women’s will host Sri Lanka.

The first men’s Twenty20 between England and New Zealand on August 30 is the only international match to be played that month, and the third edition of The Hundred will retain its place in the calendar.

The first men’s Test will be played at Edgbaston, followed by Lord’s, Headingley, Emirates Old Trafford and The Kia Oval.

England will play a single four-day Test against Ireland at Lord’s from June 1-4 before the men’s Ashes.

The Women’s Ashes will also feature three one-day internationals and three Twenty20s after the Tests during July.

the ashes
England’s men have not won the Ashes since 2015, with the series drawn when it was last hosted in Great Britain in 2019.

Heather Knight’s England women’s team and Ben Stokes’ men’s team are trying to regain the Ashes after their heavy defeat in Australia last winter.

“Next summer is going to be a huge one for England women and England men,” said England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) interim chief executive Clare Connor.

“There are few more special events in English sport than a home Ashes series and I know Heather, Ben and their team will be excited and driven by the challenge of bringing back the Ashes.

“June and July are going to be very special months for cricket in this country with the buzz of two Ashes series happening at the same time.”

In the multi-format women’s Ashes series, a Test win is worth four points, while three ODIs and three T20s are worth two points.

The Test will be England Women’s first visit to Trent Bridge since 2000, with Edgbaston, Lord’s and the Oval hosting their first women’s Ashes T20s.

“The women’s game continues to grow and we have clearly entered another phase in terms of demand for elite women’s sport,” Connor added.

“For the second season of hundreds we have seen record numbers of stadiums [and] now we want to give even more fans the chance to see England’s women in person next summer as they compete against the Ashes on home soil.”

After the Ashes, the men’s team will play four T20s and four ODIs against New Zealand followed by three ODIs against Ireland.

The women will also take on Sri Lanka in three T20 matches and three ODIs in September.

In addition, the International Cricket Council has confirmed that next year’s World Test Championship final will be held at the Oval in June, with Lord’s, the venue for the inaugural final in 2021, chosen to host again in 2025.

England 2023 home matches (all times BST)

the men


1-4 Only Test v Ireland, Lord’s (11am)

16-20 Test 1 v Australia, Edgbaston (11am)

July 28-2 2nd Test v Australia at Lord’s (11am)


6-10 3rd Test v Australia, Headingley (11am)

19-23 Test 4 v Australia, Old Trafford (11am)

27-31 5th Test v Australia, The Oval (11am)


30 1st T20 vs New Zealand, Seat Unique Riverside (6pm)


1 2nd T20 – New Zealand, Old Trafford (6pm)

3 3rd T20 v New Zealand, Edgbaston (2.30pm)

5 4th T20 – New Zealand, Trent Bridge (6pm)

8 1st ODI v New Zealand, Cardiff (12.30pm)

10 2nd ODI v New Zealand, Southampton (11am)

13 3rd ODI v New Zealand, The Oval (12.30pm)

15 4th ODI v New Zealand at Lord’s (12.30pm)

20 1st ODI v Ireland, Headingley (12.30pm)

23 2nd ODI v Ireland, Trent Bridge (11am)

26 3rd ODI in Ireland, Bristol (12.30pm)



22-26 Only Test v Australia, Trent Bridge (11am)


1 1st T20 v Australia, Edgbaston (6.35pm)

5 2nd T20 vs Australia at Oval (6pm)

8 3. T20 v Australia, Lord’s (6.35pm)

12 1st ODI v Australia, Bristol (1pm)

16 2nd ODI v Australia, Southampton (11am)

18 3rd ODI v Australia, Taunton (1pm)


2 1st T20 vs Sri Lanka, Chelmsford (2.30pm)

6 2nd T20 vs Sri Lanka, Derby (18:00)

9 3rd T20 vs Sri Lanka, Seat Unique Riverside (2.30pm)

14 1st ODI vs Sri Lanka, Leicester (12.30pm)

17 2nd ODI vs Sri Lanka, Hove (11am)

19 3rd ODI vs Sri Lanka, Canterbury (12.30pm)