It’s been 100 days since Roe was overturned. Here’s what the White House is doing in response


President Joe Biden and Vice President Kamala Harris on Tuesday will mark 100 days since Roe v. With the second meeting of the administration’s Reproductive Health Access Task Force since the Supreme Court overturned Wade.

The president and vice president will announce two more steps to increase abortion protections at the meeting, scheduled for 3:30 p.m. ET. Jen Klein, director of the White House Gender Policy Council, said in a 100-day report obtained by CNN that the moves build on existing efforts to protect reproductive health at the federal level, including executive actions announced this summer.

The Department of Education is releasing guidance to universities on how institutions can protect students from discrimination based on pregnancy under Article IX. Reiterating the degree requirement, including termination of pregnancy, Klein said.

The Department of Health and Human Services is announcing more than $6 million in Title X grants to “protect and expand access to reproductive health care and improve service delivery, promote the adoption of healthy behaviors, and reduce existing health disparities.”

Klein renewed calls for Congress to pass legislation to codify the protections set forth in Roe, as he denounced “extreme steps” by elected Republicans at the state and national levels, pointing to the abortion ban legislation by South Carolina Sen. Lindsey Graham and other moves. at the state level, including abortion bans in more than a dozen states that affect nearly 30 million women of reproductive age.

“As a result, within 100 days, millions of women are unable to access critical health care and doctors and nurses face criminal penalties for providing health care,” Klein warned.

Biden and Harris will meet Tuesday with Health and Human Services Secretary Xavier Becerra, Education Secretary Miguel Cardona, Veterans Affairs Secretary Denis McDonough, Office of Management and Budget Director Shalanda Young and Office of Science and Technology Policy Director Dr. Arati Prabhakar.