Jonny Bairstow has won the Cricket Writers’ Club Bob Willis Trophy

Jonny Bairstow is the only batsman in the world to have scored more than 1,000 runs in Tests this year.

Jonny Bairstow has won the Bob Willis Trophy after being named England’s player of the year by the Cricket Writers’ Club.

The batsman made six Test centuries in 2022, including four at home in a summer in which England won six of seven matches.

Nat Sciver received the Women’s Cricket Award, while Kent’s Jordan Cox was named Young Cricketer of the Year.

Hampshire’s Keith Barker won the County Championship Player of the Year award.

The Bob Willis Trophy was contested by 18 first division counties when the coronavirus pandemic disrupted domestic play.

It has now been approved by the Cricket Writers’ Club to honor England’s player of the year, male or female.

Bairstow, is 33 years old today sidelined with a broken leg he suffered an accident while playing golf and won’t be back in action until the new year.

“It’s one of those summers we’ll always remember,” Bairstow said. “I really remember the summer of 2005 in the Ashes, and I’m hopeful that as a group of people we’ve inspired the next generation, or even people who haven’t played the game of cricket, that we’ve revolutionized and entertained.”

Sciver, 30, scored a century in the losing effort as England were beaten by Australia in the World Cup final in April and followed it up with another ton in the Test against South Africa in June.

He decided to forfeit England’s series against India in September focus on his mental health.

“It’s been a tremendous year,” Sciver said. “This award means a lot to me.”

Complete list of Cricket Writers’ Club award winners

The Bob Willis Trophy for England Player of the Year: Jonny Bairstow

Women’s Cricket Award: Nat Sciver

Young Cricketer of the Year: Jordan Cox

Country Championship Player of the Year: Keith Barker

Emerging Cricketer of the Year: Freya Kemp

Peter Smith Award for outstanding contribution to the presentation of cricket to the public: Katherine Brunt

Disability Cricketer of the Year: Jamie Price

Derek Hodgson Award for Cricket Book of the Year: David Woodhouse for Who Only Cricket Knows

Around the BBC - SoundsAround the foot of the BBC - Sounds