NBA and WNBA Finals


Here’s some information about the NBA Finals (Men’s) and the WNBA Finals (Women’s). The Finals continue the regular season of professional basketball leagues.

June 16, 2022 – NBA Finals – The Golden State Warriors defeat the Boston Celtics, 103-90, in Game 6 to take the series 4-2.

September 18, 2022 – WNBA Finals – The Las Vegas Aces claim their first title in franchise history, defeating the Connecticut Sun 78-71 in Game 4.

July 20, 2021 – NBA Finals – The Milwaukee Bucks become NBA champions for the first time in 50 years by defeating the Phoenix Suns 105-98 in Game 6.

October 17, 2021 – WNBA Finals – The Chicago Sky won their first championship, defeating the Phoenix Mercury 80-74 in Game 4.

The eventual champion is the first of two teams to win the best of seven games.

Of the 30 NBA teams that compete in the regular season, 16 teams, eight in the Eastern Conference and eight in the Western Conference, participate in the postseason playoffs leading up to the Finals. All playoff series are also best of seven games.

The Finals is between a team from the Eastern and Western Conferences.

The winner receives the Larry O’Brien Championship Trophy, named after the former NBA commissioner in 1984.

The Boston Celtics and Lakers are tied for the most league titles with 17. The Lakers have 12 wins in Los Angeles and 5 in Minneapolis.

The defending WNBA Finals champion is the best of the two contending teams to win the best of five games.

Of the 12 WNBA teams that compete in the regular season, eight teams, regardless of conference, qualify for the postseason playoffs. Before the two single-elimination semifinals, they are best-of-five games.

The Houston Comets, Seattle Storm and Minnesota Lynx won four championships.

The winning team will receive the WNBA Championship Trophy.

1947 – In the Basketball Association of America (BAA), the Philadelphia Warriors defeated the Chicago Stags in the first semifinals, 4-1.

August 1949 – The National Basketball League (NBL) teams merge with the BAA to become the National Basketball Association (NBA).

April 23, 1950 – In the first official NBA Finals, the Minneapolis Lakers defeated the Syracuse Nationals, 4-2.

1956 – Bob Pettit St. Louis becomes the first NBA MVP with the Hawks, but beats the Philadelphia Warriors in Ft. Wayne Pistons, 4-1.

1959-1966 – Boston has won the NBA Finals eight years in a row.

1993 – The Chicago Bulls are the first team to win a “three-peat” or three consecutive championships since the Celtics in the 1960s.

April 24, 1996 – The NBA Board of Governors approves the concept of a “Women’s National Basketball Association (WNBA)” to begin play in June 1997.

1997 – The first season of the WNBA consists of eight teams.

August 30, 1997 – In the first official WNBA Finals, there is one semifinal game and one championship game. The Houston Comets beat the New York Liberty 65-51.

1997-2000 – The Houston Comets have won the WNBA Finals Championship four years in a row. Team member Cynthia Cooper, the first WNBA Finals MVP, is the only player ever to win four consecutive Finals MVP awards.

June 5, 2014 – During Game 1 of the Finals between the Spurs and the Miami Heat in San Antonio, an electrical malfunction in the arena causes the air conditioning to fail, and the temperature inside reaches over 90 degrees. The Spurs will go on to beat the Heat in the series, 4-1.

September 19, 2016 – The WNBA is announcing changes to the playoff format, which could feature the top eight teams from both conferences.

June 13, 2019 – The Toronto Raptors have won Canada’s first NBA Championship, defeating the Golden State Warriors 4-2 in the series. The Raptors are also the first team outside the United States to win the NBA title.

March 11, 2020 – After a Utah Jazz player tests positive for Covid-19, the NBA is suspending the remainder of the season “until further notice” due to the global pandemic.

June 26, 2020 – The NBA has announced that the season will begin on July 30.

September 20, 2020 – The WNBA has announced it will postpone the first game of the semifinals after Seattle Storm players received “inconclusive” Covid-19 tests. The match will be played on September 22.