Nobel Prize Fast Facts | CNN


Here is the Nobel Prize, an international award given annually for achievements in physics, chemistry, medicine, literature, economics and peace.

From October 3 to 10, 2022 – The Nobel Prizes are scheduled to be announced.

From October 4 to 11, 2021 – Nobel Prizes are announced. The Nobel Peace Prize is awarded to journalists Maria Ressa and Dmitry Muratov for their efforts to protect freedom of expression in the Philippines and Russia.

Nobel laureates are called laureates.

The Nobel Committee keeps the names of the prize winners secret for 50 years before they are made public.

The award consists of a medal, a personal diploma and a cash prize (10 million Swedish kroner (SEK)) – approximately $1.2 million as of December 2020.

The main inscription on one side of the medals for the Nobel Prizes in Physics, Chemistry, Medicine and Literature is the same: “Inventas vitam juvat excoluisse per artes”, without translation, “And those who improved life on earth with new mastery”. Literally translated, “inventions enhance life that is beautified through art.”

The peace medal bears the inscription “Pro pace et fraternitate gentium”, translated “For the peace and fraternity of men”.

The economy medal has no inscription.

The Nobel Prizes are announced in advance but are awarded each year on December 10, the anniversary of Alfred Nobel’s death.

The Nobel Prizes for Physics, Chemistry, Medicine, Literature and Economics are awarded at a ceremony in Stockholm, Sweden.

The Nobel Peace Prize is awarded at a ceremony in Oslo, Norway. On a regular basis, no award has been given. The last one happened in 1972.

The number of winners is limited to three per category.

A person must be alive to be nominated. If they die during the consideration period, their name will be removed. If a person is announced as a winner and dies before the event, the prize will be awarded posthumously.

The Nobel Foundation supports the common interests of the awarding institutions: the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, the Swedish Academy, the Karolinska Institute and the Norwegian Nobel Committee.

1866 – The Swedish chemist, engineer and industrialist Alfred Nobel invented dynamite. Later, it builds companies and laboratories in more than 20 countries around the world.

December 10, 1896 – Nobel has died in Italy, at the age of 63. His will will divide the prizes into five categories: Physics, Chemistry, Medicine, Literature and Peace.

June 29, 1900 – The Nobel Foundation is created. It is the central body of the Nobel organization responsible for awarding the Nobel Prizes.

1901 – The first Nobel Prizes are awarded.

1939-1943 – No Nobel Peace Prize is awarded.

1968 – A sixth prize, Economics, is added by the Bank of Sweden (Sveriges Riksbank) in memory of Alfred Nobel.

2016 – The class of 376 Peace Prize nominees is the largest ever.

May 4, 2018 – The Nobel Foundation announces the decision to postpone the 2018 Nobel Prize in Literature due to the scandal of sexual misconduct within the Swedish Academy. The foundation awards the prize on October 10, 2019.