Premiership: Harlequins 27-30 Saracens – Sarries win a stunning derby

Max Malins scored either side of half-time for last season’s Premiership finalists Saracens.
Harlequins: (24) 27
Attempts: Murley 2, March Cons: Alan 3 Pens: Alan 2
Saracens: (12) 30
Attempts: Daly, Malins 2, Tompkins Cons: Farrell 2 Pens: Farrell, Daly

Saracens came back from 17-0 down to beat Harlequins at the Twickenham Stoop in a thrilling London derby.

Two tries in nine minutes from Cadan Murley gave Quins the perfect start, with Tommaso Allan adding a penalty before Elliot Daly and Max Malins hit back.

Joe Marchant’s try put Quins 24-12 ahead at the break.

Malins’ second try, another from Nick Tompkins and penalties from Owen Farrell and Daly, either side of an Allan kick, sealed victory for Sarries.

While Sarries could call on England internationals Farrell, Maro Itoje, Billy Vunipola, Jamie George and Mako Vunipola, Quins missed out on Marcus Smith’s chance to play against his international teammates due to half-time rules.

Any frustration Quins had with the selections did not show early on as Murley showed great pace to score two tries in quick succession against last season’s Premiership finalists.

A long-range penalty from Allan – after the Italian had scored two try conversions – opened up a 17-point lead for the hosts, who lost Will Collier to injury before Saracens pulled a try back against Daly with what was his first attack.

Malins then crossed to reduce the deficit further, but Quins punished Sarries for a mistake by Marchant on the counter-attack.

Malins’ second effort early in the second half was followed by a Farrell penalty before Tompkins’ try gave Sarries the lead after 61 minutes.

An Allan penalty leveled the score at 27-27 three minutes later, but Daly won the penalty with 14 minutes remaining.

Harlequins: Green; Marchant, Northmore, Anyanwu, Murley; Allan, Gjaltema; Marler, Head, Collier; Hammond, Herbst, Kenningham, Evans, Dombrandt.

Replacements: Walker, Kerrod, Louw, Lamb, White, Stafford, Edwards, Hyde.

Saracens: Daly; Malins, Lozowski, Tompkins, Lewington; Farrell, Van Zyl; Mawi, Woolstencroft, judge; Itoje, Tizard, McFarland, Earl, B Vunipola.

Replacements: George, M Vunipola, Clarey, Christie, Wray, Davies, Manu Vunipola, Taylor.

Judge: Tom Foley.