Primetime Emmy Awards Fast Facts


Here are the Primetime Emmy Awards, which recognize television programs and performers.

September 12, 2022 – The 74th Primetime Emmy Awards are hosted by Kenan Thompson.

September 19, 2021 – The 73rd Primetime Emmy Awards are hosted by Cedric the Entertainer.

The Emmys are presented by the Academy of Television Arts and Sciences.

Television engineer Louis McManus created the Emmy statuette, based on his wife’s image.

The Emmy Awards are named after “Immy”, short for optical picture tube, an early camera. It later became “Emmy”.

The first Emmy Awards were held on January 25, 1949 at the Hollywood Athletic Club and were for Los Angeles programming only. Six awards were given. Tickets for the event were $5.

The first award given was for outstanding personality and went to ventriloquist Shirley Dinsdale for her children’s show, “Judy Splinters.”

Cloris Leachman and Julia Louis-Dreyfus are tied for the most Emmys ever by a performer (8). Ed Asner has won the most Emmys ever by a male actor (7), as of 2022.

“The Handmaid’s Tale,” which premiered on Hulu in 2017, was the first series on the online streaming service to win an Emmy for Outstanding Drama.

In 2018, the Amazon Prime Video series “The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel” won an Emmy for Outstanding Comedy. It was the first time a streaming network show won the comedy award.

In 2021, NATAS and the Television Academy have announced a revamp of the Primetime and Daytime Emmy Awards, organizing the competitions based on content genre rather than airtime.

Outstanding Comedy Series:

“Ted Lasso”

Lead Actor – Comedy Series:

Jason Sudeikis, “Ted Lasso”

Outstanding Lead Actor – Comedy Series:

Jean Smart, “Hacks”

Outstanding Supporting Actor – Comedy Series:

Brett Goldstein, “Ted Lasso”

Outstanding Supporting Actor – Comedy Series:

Sheryl Lee Ralph, “Abbott Elementary”

Great drama series:


Excellent The main actor – Drama series:

Lee Jung-jae, “Talabar Game”

Excellent Starring actor – Drama series:

Zendaya, “Euphoria”

Excellent Secondary Actor – Drama series:

Matthew Macfadyen, “Sequence”

Outstanding Supporting Actor – Drama Series:

Julia Garner, “Ozark”

Complete list of 2022 winners.