Rugby League World Cup: Australia beat Scotland 84-0

Josh Addo-Carr (right) was one of two Australian players to score a hat-trick
Australia (40) 84
Attempts: Addo-Carr (4), Wighton (2), Crichton, Graham (3), Cleary, Tedesco, Hunt, Burton, Yeo Goals: Light (12)
Scotland (0) 0

Holders Australia thrashed Scotland 84-0 in Coventry, confirming their place in the Rugby League World Cup qualifiers with a stunning 15-try haul.

Josh Addo-Carr starred, scoring a magical four tries with Campbell Graham also scoring a hat-trick.

Seven other Australians crossed in the rain.

After a devastating second loss, only a strange result will see Scotland progress to the quarter-finals without a win.

The Scots will be hoping Fiji beat Italy on Saturday before losing to Nathan Graham’s side in the final Group B match next Saturday, with Italy also losing to Australia on the same day.

Scotland, 2013 quarter-finalists, would then rely on points difference to reach the last 16.

Australia’s place in the knockout stages will be confirmed on Saturday, unless Fiji beat Italy.

Addo-Carr star of ruthless Australia

Australia won their 14th consecutive World Cup, equaling their own record.

The 11-time world champions were always fielding six Super League players and were able to call on NRL’s Euan Aitken against a Scotland side.

Mal Meninga’s outfit were merciless, despite chances to break their record 110-4 win over Russia at the 2000 World Cup.

Early tries from Addo-Carr, Jack Wighton, Angus Crichton, Graham and Nathan Cleary set the standard for an electric display, with Scotland rarely crossing the halfway line.

Addo-Carr used his blistering pace to add the second before Wighton rounded off the first-half scoring.

Immediately after the restart James Tedesco stepped up and Ben Hunt crossed to put Australia 50-0 up in the 43rd minute.

Addo-Carr completed his hat-trick on 48 minutes with Graham and Matt Burton quickly adding to the scores.

Graham completed his hat-trick before Isaah Yeo crossed for Addo-Carr’s fourth, the final try of the game, relying on great ball skills in Burton’s touch.

Australia: Tedesco; Addo-Carr, Wighton, Burton, Graham; Munster, Cleary; Campbell-Gillard, Grant, Carrigan, Crichton, Martin, Yeo.

Exchanges: Hunt, Holmes, Trbojevic, Collins.

Scotland: The walker; Russell, Hellewell, Buchanan, Walmsley; Hayward, Gahan; Bayliss-Brow, Hood, Teanby, Aitken, Linnett, Bell.

Exchanges: Schneider, Bain, Graham, Ferguson.