Scotland v Australia: Blair Kinghorn and Ollie Smith start for the hosts

Blair Kinghorn (centre) takes the crucial number 10 jersey for Scotland in the absence of Finn Russell
Place: Murrayfield, Edinburgh Date: October 29, Saturday Start: 17:30 BST
Coverage: Live text commentary on the BBC Sport website and app

Blair Kinghorn will start at fly-half and Ollie Smith at full-back for Scotland’s Test against Australia at Murrayfield on Saturday.

With Finn Russell leave it of the national team, Edinburgh’s Kinghorn is selected at number 10.

Glasgow’s Smith wins his second cap in the absence of Exeter’s Stuart Hogg, while Jamie Ritchie captains the side.

Non-domestic Scotland players are available for the first of four autumn internationals.

Defenders Stafford McDowall and Kyle Steyn and forward Murphy Walker have been released to play in Glasgow Warriors’ United Rugby Championship game against Benetton.

Back row Jack Dempsey is a potential debutant from the bench, while fellow substitute Damien Hoyland could make his first appearance on the wing in five years.

Scott Cummings was ruled out of the series with a broken toe, once blocked Glen Young is also on the bench.

Following the visit of former Glasgow coach Dave Rennie’s Wallabies, Gregor Townsend’s Scots host Fiji on November 5, New Zealand on November 13 and Argentina on November 19.

Scotland won two of their Six Nations matches in the spring before losing their summer tour series to Argentina in both defeats.

Ritchie has taken over from Hogg as captain and Ali Price and lock Grant Gilchrist have been selected as vice-captains.

Scotland: Ollie Smith, Darcy Graham, Mark Bennett, Sione Tuipulotu, Duhan van der Merwe, Blair Kinghorn, Ali Price; Pierre Schoeman, Dave Cherry, Zander Fagerson, Sam Skinner, Grant Gilchrist, Jamie Ritchie (capt), Hamish Watson, Matt Fagerson.

Replacements: George Turner, Jamie Bhatti, WP Nel, Glen Young, Jack Dempsey, George Horne, Ross Thompson, Damien Hoyland.