US Supreme Court Fast Facts


Here’s a look at the United States Supreme Court.

The US Supreme Court ruled that Article III of the United States Constitution It was created under section 1 of the article and under the authority of the Judicial Law of September 24, 1789.

Nine justices comprise the US Supreme Court, one chief justice and eight justices. The number of judges is fixed by Congress by authority of the Judicial Code (28 USC 1), enacted on June 25, 1948.

The President of the United States nominates nominees for the Supreme Court. They must be approved by the US Senate.

Once accepted, all justices are valid for life. Congress can remove justice for corrupt practices or other abuses of office through impeachment, but this has never happened.

Chief Justices Outgoing Chief Justices are sworn in. Associate Justices are sworn in by the current Chief Justice or one of the other Associate Justices.

Each justice oversees at least one of the 12 Federal Judicial Circuit Courts.

February 2, 1790 – The first court meets in New York.

May 4, 2020 – For the first time, due to the coronavirus pandemic, the court hears oral arguments via teleconference. In addition, the arguments are broadcast live, in real time.

John G. Roberts (Chief Justice)
Birthday date: January 27, 1955

September 5, 2005 – President George W. Bush has nominated Roberts to be the Chief Justice of the United States following the death of Chief Justice William Rehnquist.

September 29, 2005 – Confirmed by the US Senate.

October 3, 2005 – Oath of Office

He oversees the District of Columbia Circuit, the Fourth Circuit, and the Federal Circuit.

Born in Buffalo, New York; He attended Harvard University and Harvard Law School; He served as a judge on the Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit from 2003-2005.

Clarence Thomas
Birthday date: June 23, 1948

July 1, 1991 – President George HW Bush nominated Thurgood Marshall to the Supreme Court to fill the seat vacated.

October 23, 1991 – Oath of Office

He oversees the Eleventh Circuit.

He was born in Pin Point, Georgia, near Savannah; He attended Holy Cross College and Yale Law School; He was chairman of the US Equal Employment Opportunity Commission from 1982-1990; He became a judge on the US Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit in 1990.

Samuel Alito
Birthday date: April 1, 1950

October 31, 2005 – George W. Bush nominated Sandra Day to replace O’Connor.

January 31, 2006 – Confirmed by the US Senate and sworn into office by Chief Justice Roberts.

Oversees the Third and Fifth Circuits.

Born in Trenton, New Jersey; He attended Princeton University and Yale Law School; Appointed US Attorney for the District of New Jersey in 1987; Appointed to the US Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit in 1990, Newark, New Jersey.

Sonia Sotomayor
Birthday date: June 25, 1954

May 26, 2009 – President Barack Obama has nominated Justice David Souter to replace him on the US Supreme Court.

August 8, 2009 – Chief Justice Roberts was sworn into office as the first Hispanic Supreme Court justice.

He oversees the Second Circuit.

He was born in New York, New York (Bronx); He attended Princeton University and Yale Law School; In 1979 he served as an assistant New York County attorney; George HW Bush appointed Sotomayor as an Associate Justice of the US District Court for the Southern District of New York in 1992; Clinton appointed Sotomayor to the US Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit in 1997.

Elena Kagan
Birthday date: April 28, 1960

May 10, 2010 – Obama has nominated Kagan to be a US Supreme Court justice.

August 7, 2010 – Chief Justice Roberts was sworn in as the 112th Justice of the Supreme Court.

He oversees the Ninth Circuit.

Born in New York, New York; He attended Princeton University, Worcester College, Oxford University, and Harvard University; He was editor of the Harvard Law Review; Secretary of Justice Marshall; Clinton Associate Counsel; first female dean of Harvard University Law School; Obama nominated Kagan to be the US Attorney General in 2009.

Neil Gorsuch
Birthday date: August 29, 1967

January 31, 2017 – Gorsuch has been nominated by President Donald Trump to replace the late Antonin Scalia on the Supreme Court.

April 10, 2017 – Justice Anthony Kennedy was sworn into office.

He oversees the Tenth Circuit.

Born in Denver, Colorado; He attended Columbia University, Harvard Law School and Oxford University; He founded a student publication at Columbia called the Federalist Paper; Justice Secretary Kennedy; He was nominated by George W. Bush to be a judge on the US Court of Appeals for the Tenth Circuit.

Brett Kavanaugh
Birthday date: February 12, 1965

July 9, 2018 – Kavanaugh has been nominated by Trump to replace retiring Justice Kennedy on the Supreme Court.

October 6, 2018 – Chief Justice Roberts took the oath of office.

Oversees the Sixth and Eighth Circuits.

He was born in Washington; Educated at Yale College and Yale Law School; Justice Secretary Kennedy; Kenneth Starr’s Associate Whitewater Research Consultant; Bush nominated him to be a judge on the US Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit.

Amy Coney Barrett
Birthday date: January 28, 1972

September 26, 2020 – Trump has nominated Barrett as his Supreme Court nominee to succeed the late Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg.

October 27, 2020 – Barrett has been sworn in by Chief Justice Roberts, officially beginning his term as the Supreme Court’s 115th justice.

He oversees the Seventh Circuit.

Born in New Orleans; He attended Rhodes College and Notre Dame Law School; Justice Scalia; Trump nominated Barrett to the 7th US Circuit Court of Appeals in 2017.

Ketanji Brown-Jackson
Birthday date: September 14, 1970

February 25, 2022 – President Joe Biden has announced that he has selected Jackson as his nominee for the Supreme Court.

June 30, 2022 – Jackson is sworn in to the United States Supreme Court, becoming the first black woman to take a seat on the Supreme Court.

He oversees the First Circuit.

He was born in Washington; He attended Harvard and Harvard Law School; Clerk to Justice Stephen Breyer; Biden nominated Jackson to the DC Court of Appeals in 2021.